23 weeks and growing.

After my appointment last week I have had time to sit down and really process what has happened between October 1 2010 and now. I went into this pregnancy full intending to fight tooth an nail if I had to for the VBAC natural birth I wanted for me and this baby. I knew I would get the natural part of it with going to the birthing center but the VBAC I was unsure of. Up until I talked to Nicole my midwife the first time I didnt know why officially I ended up with a c-section and she told me that I was a perfect candidate for a VBAC and Dr Roque approved it. I finally got to meet Dr. Roque at my last appointment and I wanted to ask her opinion of how successful she really thought I would be to prepare myself for the worst if she really didnt think I could do it. After talking to me for about 10 minutes I asked her How successful she really thought I would be and steeled myself for the worse. She then asked me more about my first labor and was completely floored with all the things that my old OB had done and told me that I should of sued him. She then reassured me with a gigantic smile on her face that I would get my natural VBAC birth and they wouldnt cut me open again unless they had first tried anything and everything else. I sat there when she said that and I felt about 50 different things all at once I was elated, sad, hurt, strengthened, wanted to cry, smile and hug her all at the same time. Its been sinking in more in the week since my appointment that I would get to labor and birth the way I wanted to and that I wouldnt have to fight for what I wanted. I had found a supportive and loving place that believed in me and my body and my ability to birth my baby. I have been building my wonderful support team starting first with my mom, husband, and close family then I added my wonderful Doula and friend Rae to the mix, and now I have added a loving and supportive birth center team and hospital staff that will make this all possible. I look forward to October with hope, joy, and a resolve that I will have the birth I always imagined because I educated myself and sought out people who would support what I wanted. 

One thought on “23 weeks and growing.

Leave a Reply

